what can i say, i’m a dreamer

June 16, 2009

have i mentioned yet that i have been experiencing the most intense & vivid dreams lately?  well, i have.  i havent decided if i do or don’t believe that dreams mean anything…like dreams symbolically poking into my subconscious.  like a door meaning an opportunity…or the image of a rope meaning a promise (i looked that up).  i tend to side with the idea that dreams are simply a collection of random thoughts that meld together to create a modge-podge storyline that usually never has a reasonable conclusion.  its interesting that i dream about thoughts i mull over all day, as well as thoughts that just seem to float in and fly away.  over the past few months i’ve been keeping a record of my dreams, writing down as much as i can recall–not for any analytical reasons, but to record the workings of my mind, to preserve the endless possibilities that lay in the fields of my imagination, and to ultimately remind myself of the fleeting genius (potential genius, that is) we each contain inside otherwise focused everyday thought processes.  i kinda sound like a dreamer, don’t i?  i’m not trying to sound philosophical.  i guess its just super sweet (thats a technical term) to find that a lil bit of shuteye could propel me in any which direction, fashioning dreams unpredictable, sometimes scary, yet always interesting.

through recent patterns of observation i’ve realized that i dream most vividly during my midday snooze sessions.  those four hours every afternoon really do it for me.

2 Responses to “what can i say, i’m a dreamer”

  1. Truc-Lan Says:

    4 and a half inches off? Dude we need to skype soon so I can see it. Friday I get the MacBook pro so we can skype on my cool new built-in camera. =) ❤

  2. Nick Says:

    This is actually really common when you take midday naps. I used to have dreams like that when I would take naps during a really greatly scheduled semester in college. Whats really cool though is when you take daytime naps you are much more likely to be able to have lucid dreams, where you can control elements in your dreams. It takes focus but I was able to do it, I could switch people or objects in the dream, rewind, etc. It was a lot of fun. You have to go into the nap with the idea that you are going to dream and develop a level of consciousness to know when you are in fact dreaming, then you can slowly start manipulating elements.


Leave a comment